Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable GHISLAIN MALTAIS

Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017

Issue No. 25

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)


Seventeenth and eighteenth meetings:

Study on the acquisition of farmland in Canada and its potential impact on the farming sector


Tuesday, March 7, 2017 (by video conference)

National Farmers' Federation (Australia):

Tony Mahar, Chief Executive Officer.

Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako:

Mark Parker, Area D Director and Chair of the Agriculture Committee;

Gerry Thiessen, Municipal Director.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Perennia Food and Agriculture Inc.:

Wayne Adams, Special Project Co-ordinator.

Sociedad Rural Argentina:

Eduardo A.C. De Zavalia, Lawyer (by video conference).


The Honourable Ghislain Maltais, Chair

The Honourable Terry M. Mercer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Bernard, Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Dagenais, Gagné, Galvez, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Merchant, Ogilvie, Petitclerc, Plett, Pratte, Tardif, Woo

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (March 8, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (March 8, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (March 6, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Woo replaced the Honourable Senator Duffy (March 2, 2017).