Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable DIANE F. GRIFFIN

Monday, April 8, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019

Issue No. 64

Election of the deputy chair


Twenty-eighth and twenty-ninth meetings:
Study on how the value-added food sector can be more competitive in global markets


Tuesday, April 9, 2019

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Marco Valicenti, Director General, Sector Development and Analysis Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Daniel Miller, Executive Director, International Programs Directorate, International Affairs Branch.

Global Affairs Canada:

Christopher Wilkie, Director General, Trade Sectors.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Doug Band, Director General, Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate;

Fred Gaspar, Director General, Commercial Program Directorate.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Andrea Johnston, Assistant Deputy Minister, Innovation Canada;

Mesmin Pierre, Director General, Trade-marks Branch, Canadian Intellectual Property Office;

Iyana Goyette, Deputy Director, Trade-marks Branch, Canadian Intellectual Property Office.

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Netherlands Foreign Investment Agency:

Maarten Schans, Senior Advisor Agri-Food (by video conference).

Embassy of Canada to the Kingdom of the Netherlands:

Diederik Beutener, Trade Commissioner (by video conference).


The Honourable Diane F. Griffin, Chair

The Honourable Donald Neil Plett, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Black (Ontario), Dagenais, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Nova Scotia), Doyle, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Klyne, Kutcher, Mercer, Miville-Dechêne, Moodie, Oh, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Klyne replaced the Honourable Senator Bernard (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator McIntyre (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator McIntyre replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (April 9, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Kutcher replaced the Honourable Senator Gold (April 9, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Kutcher (April 5, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Plett was added to the membership (April 4, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Maltais was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (April 4, 2019).