Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable DIANE F. GRIFFIN

Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019

Issue No. 66

First meeting:
Subject matter of those elements contained in Subdivision C of Division 9 of Part 4, insofar as it relates to food, and in Subdivision J of Division 9 of Part 4 of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures

First (final) meeting:
Bill C-281, An Act to establish a National Local Food Day


Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Food and Beverage Canada:

Kathleen Sullivan, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Maple Lodge Farms:

Michael Burrows, Chief Executive Officer.

Bonduelle Americas:

Daniel Vielfaure, Director General.

Food & Consumer Products of Canada:

Susan Abel, Vice-President Safety and Compliance;

Carla Ventin, Senior Vice-President, Government Relations.

Canadian National Millers Association:

Gordon Harrison, President.

Health Canada:

David K. Lee, Chief Regulatory Officer, Health Products and Food Branch;

Greg Loyst, Director General, Policy and Regulatory Strategies Directorate.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Wayne Stetski, Member of Parliament for Kootenay—Columbia, sponsor of the bill.

As individuals:

Anita Stewart, Food Laureate, Ontario Agricultural College, University of Guelph;

Michael Smith, Chef and Owner, The Inn at Bay Fortune (by video conference).

Food Secure Canada:

Gisèle Yasmeen, Executive Director.

National Farmers Union:

Stuart Oke, Youth President.


The Honourable Diane F. Griffin, Chair

The Honourable Donald Neil Plett, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bernard, Black (Ontario), Cormier, Dagenais, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Nova Scotia), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Housakos, Kutcher, Mercer, Moodie, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Smith replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (May 16, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Doyle (May 15, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Cormier replaced the Honourable Senator Miville-Dechêne (May 15, 2019).