Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable LARRY SMITH

Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016

Issue No. 20

Second and third meetings:

Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017

Thirteenth meeting:

Study on the federal government's multi-billion dollar infrastructure funding program

First meeting:

The subject matter of all of Bill C-29, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2016 and other measures

(Bill C-2, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act)


Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Global Affairs Canada:

Arun Thangaraj, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer;

Caroline Delany, Director, Planning and Deployment Division, Peace and Stabilization Operations Program (PSOP);

Sean Boyd, Director, Middle East Development Division.

National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Claude Rochette, Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance) and Chief Financial Officer;

André Fillion, Chief of Staff (Materiel);

Major-General John Madower, Chief of Programme.

Veterans Affairs Canada:

Maureen Sinnott, Director General, Finance;

Faith McIntyre, Director General, Policy and Research Division (by video conference);

Elizabeth Douglas, Director General, Service Delivery Program Management (by video conference).

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Colette Downie, Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Management Sector;

Lawrence Hanson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Innovation Sector.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation:

Shaun Poulter, Executive Director, Public Affairs;

Michael Mooney, Executive Director, Corporate Finance and Administration.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Health Canada:

Randy Larkin, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Chief Financial Officer Branch;

Sony Perron, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada:

Paul Thoppil, Chief Financial Officer, Chief Financial Sector;

David Smith, Acting Director General, Community Infrastructure Branch, Regional Operations Sector.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation:

Wojo Zielonka, Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice-President, Capital Markets;

Michel Tremblay, Senior Vice-President, Policy Research and Public Affairs;

Charlie MacArthur, Senior Vice-President, Regional Operations and Assisted Housing.

Friday, December 2, 2016

Department of Finance Canada:

Trevor McGowan, Acting Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch;

Pierre Leblanc, Director, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch;

James Greene, Director, Business Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch.


The Honourable Larry Smith, Chair

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, Baker, P.C., *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Cowan, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Marshall, Mitchell, Mockler, Pratte, Raine,

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Baker, P.C., was added to the membership (December 2, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (December 1, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Seidman replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (December 1, 2016).