Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Issue No. 33

Twentieth meeting:

Study on the federal government's multi-billion dollar infrastructure funding program


Fifth meeting:

The subject matter of all of Bill C-44, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2017 and other measures


Sixth meeting:

Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2018


Tuesday, May 16, 2017 (morning sitting)

Privy Council Office:

Matthew Mendelsohn, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet, Results and Delivery;

Francis Bilodeau, Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Results and Delivery.

Infrastructure Canada:

Jean-François Tremblay, Deputy Minister, Infrastructure and Communities;

Darlene Boileau, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer;

Marc Fortin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Program Operations;

Alain Desruisseau, Director General, Strategic Policy and Priority Initiatives;

Glenn Campbell, Assistant Deputy Minister, Infrastructure Funding and Investment, Canada Infrastructure Bank Transition Office.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017 (afternoon sitting)

World Health Organization:

Dr. Shekhar Saxena, Director, Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse;

Jeremias N. Paul Jr., Coordinator, Tobacco Control Economics (by video conference).

Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse:

Catherine Paradis, Senior Research and Policy Analyst.

Association des microbrasseries du Québec:

Frédérick Tremblay, President (by video conference).

Alberta Small Brewers Association:

Barbara Feit, Treasurer.

Andrew Peller Limited:

John E. Peller, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Department of Finance Canada:

Elisha Ram, Director, Financial Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Cynthia Leach, Chief, Housing Finance, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Phil King, Director, Economic Analysis and Forecasting, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada:

Carolyn Rogers, Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector;

Judy Cameron, Senior Director, Legislation, Approvals and Strategic Policy;

Michele Bridges, Managing Director, Finance and Corporate Planning.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Baker, P.C., Day, Eaton, Forest, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Marshall, Moncion, Neufeld, Oh, Pratte, *Smith (or Martin), Woo

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)