Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Issue No. 88

First and second meetings:
Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2019


Tuesday, February26, 2019 (morning meeting)

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Mark Perlman, Chief Financial Officer and Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer Branch;

Jason Won, Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Chief Financial Officer Branch;

Alexis Conrad, Assistant Deputy Minister, Learning Branch.

National Energy Board:

Mark Power, Vice President, Performance and Results and Chief Financial Officer;

Jim Fox, Vice President, Integrated Energy Information and Analysis.

Indigenous Services Canada:

Paul Thoppil, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Odette Johnston, Director General, Children and Families Branch.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Alex Lakroni, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Eric Marion, Senior Director Fiscal Policy, Policy Development and Coordination Branch.

Tuesday, February26, 2019 (afternoon meeting)

Department of Finance Canada:

Darlene Bess, Chief Financial Officer;

Richard Botham, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development and Corporate Finance Branch;

Leah Anderson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Miodrag Jovanovic, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister (Analysis), Tax Policy Branch;

Nicholas Leswick, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch;

Nicolas Moreau, Director General, Funds Management Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Daniel Mills, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Management;

Mike MacDonald, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations.

Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Julie Charron, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance) and Acting Chief Financial Officer;

Patrick Finn, Assistant Deputy Minister (Materiel);

Major-General Hercule Gosselin, Chief of Programme.

Veterans Affairs Canada:

Elizabeth Stuart, Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer and Corporate Services;

Faith McIntyre, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Commemoration;

Michel Doiron, Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery (by video conference).


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair

The Honourable André Pratte, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Boehm, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest, Forest-Niesing, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Klyne, Manning, Marshall, Moncion, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November7, 2017 and of November20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (February26, 2019).