Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Issue No. 92 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 10, 2019

OTTAWA, Wednesday, April 10, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:45 p.m., in room W120, 1 Wellington Street, the deputy chair, the Honourable André Pratte, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Boehm, Deacon (Ontario), Duncan, Eaton, Forest, Forest-Niesing, Klyne, Marshall, Oh and Pratte (11).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 4, 2018, the committee continued its study on the processes and financial aspects of the Government of Canada's system of defence procurement. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 78.)


Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries:

Christyn Cianfarani, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association (AFCEA) Ottawa Chapter:

Kelly Stewart-Belisle, President;

Major-General (Ret'd) Greg Loos, Member.

Aerospace Industries Association of Canada:

Jim Quick, President and Chief Executive Officer.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Cianfarani, Ms. Stewart-Belisle and Mr. Quick each made statements and together with Major-General Loos, answered questions.

At 8:29 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Gaëtane Lemay
Clerk of the Committee