Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17


Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Thursday, June 1, 2017

Issue No. 25

Third and fourth meetings:

Subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 5, 9, 11, 13, 14 and 16 of Part 4 of Bill C-44, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2017 and other measures

First meeting:

Bill C-233, An Act respecting a national strategy for Alzheimer's disease and other dementias

First meeting:

Bill S-228, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act (prohibiting food and beverage marketing directed at children)

(Bill C-233, An Act respecting a national strategy for Alzheimer's disease and other dementias)


Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Canadian Mental Health Association:

Patrick Smith, National Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Home Care Association:

Dale Clement, Board Member.

Health Canada:

Jocelyne Voisin, Executive Director, Health Accord Secretariat, Assistant Deputy Minister's Office, Strategic Policy Branch;

Marcel Saulnier, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Care Strategies Directorate, Strategic Policy Branch.

Department of Finance Canada:

Omar Rajabali, Chief, Canada Health Transfer (CHT), the Canada Social Transfer (CST) and Northern Policy, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Metro Toronto Chinese & Southeast Asian Legal Clinic:

Vincent Wong, Acting Clinic Director (by video conference).

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Matt De Vlieger, Director General, Strategic Policy and Planning;

Karine Paré, Director General, Cost Management Division;

Marie-Pier Côté, Assistant Director, Express Entry;

Victoria Henderson, Acting Director, Cost Management.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

The Honourable Robert Nicholson, P.C., Member of Parliament for Niagara Falls, of the bill;

Robert Oliphant, Member of Parliament for Don Valley West, co-sponsor of the bill.

Alzheimer Society of Canada:

Pauline Tardif, Chief Executive Officer.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Cormier, Day, Dean, Frum, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Hartling, McPhedran, Mégie, Neufeld, Petitclerc, Raine, Seidman, *Smith (or Martin), Stewart Olsen

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Hartling replaced the Honourable Senator Griffin (June 1, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Griffin replaced the Honourable Senator Woo (May 30, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator McIntyre (May 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (May 18, 2017).


Back to top