Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable CHANTAL PETITCLERC

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019

Issue No. 60

Third and fourth meetings:
Bill C-83, An Act to amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and another Act


Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Native Women's Association of Canada:

Elana Finestone, Legal Counsel.


Richard Sauvé, Facilitator.

As an individual:

Renee Acoby (by video conference).

Union of Canadian Correctional Officers-CSN:

Jason Godin, Outgoing National President.

As an individual:

Glen Brown, Criminal Justice Instructor, Langara College.

Office of the Correctional Investigator:

Ivan Zinger, Correctional Investigator of Canada;

Marie-France Kingsley, Executive Director.

Canadian Human Rights Commission:

Marie-Claude Landry, Chief Commissioner;

Fiona Keith, Senior Counsel.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Public Safety Canada:

Angela Arnet Connidis, Director General, Crime Prevention, Corrections and Criminal Justice Directorate.

Correctional Service of Canada:

Jennifer Wheatley, Assistant Commissioner, Health Services;

Luc Bisson, Acting Director General, Executive Secretariat and Chief of Staff;

Lee Redpath, Executive Director, Structured Intervention Units;

Marty Maltby, Acting Director General, Aboriginal Initiatives Directorate.

Department of Justice Canada:

Juline Fresco, Counsel.


The Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, Chair

The Honourable Judith G. Seidman, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Day (or Mercer), Eaton, Forest-Niesing, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Kutcher, Manning, McInnis, Mégie, Munson, Omidvar, Pate, Poirier, Ravalia, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator McInnis replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (May 16, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Wells replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (May 16, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Ravalia replaced the Honourable Senator Dasko (May 15, 2019).

Back to top