Marc Gold

Senator Marc Gold, P.C.

  • Province: Quebec (Stadacona)
  • Affiliation: Non-affiliated
  • Telephone: 613-995-0222
  • Fax: 613-995-0207
  • Email:  vCard
  • Staff: Tremblay, Ginette; Liang, Dorothy; Fedio, Chloé; Gunn-Doerge, Benjamin; Ménard, Éric-Antoine; Penney, Michael; Zeinali, Maya; Brisson, Rosemarie; Lévesque, Geneviève
  • Personal Website:


Marc Gold has a recognized record of achievement both professionally and in service to the community. In his early career as a law professor at Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto, he published extensively, lectured throughout Canada and abroad, and was one of a handful of academics solicited to provide training for federally-appointed judges in the area of constitutional law and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. He left full-time academic life twenty-five years ago, and has since made significant contributions through service to the community. He has held major leadership roles in the Jewish community at the local, national and international levels, including being Chair of Jewish Federations of Canada. He also served for ten years as the Chair of ENSEMBLE pour le respect de la diversité (formerly the Tolerance Foundation), a not-for-profit organization that works with youth to build a more open and inclusive society, which currently reaches more than 25,000 young people annually in schools throughout Quebec and Canada. Mr. Gold served on the Board of Directors and was Chair of the Tenure and Promotions Committee of the Université de Montréal for sixteen years, and upon the end of his mandate in June 2016, was named administrateur émérite in recognition of his service to the university. For 23 years, he was also Vice-President of Maxwell Cummings and Sons, a family-owned private real estate and investment firm based in Montreal. He currently is an Adjunct Professor of Law at McGill University. He also is a member of the board of directors of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. He received an honorary doctorate from Bar Ilan University in 2012 and the Samuel Bronfman Medal from Federation CJA in 2015.

Committee Membership

The Leader of the Government and the Leader of the Opposition or, in the absence of either, their respective Deputy Leaders are ex officio members of all committees except the Standing Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators, the joint committees and subcommittees.