Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Wednesday, June 3, 1998 (in camera)

Tuesday, June 9, 1998

Issue No. 9

Sixth meeting on: Bill C-6, the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act

First and only meeting on: Bill C-39, An Act to amend the Nunavut Act and the Constitution Act, 1867


On Bill C-6:

From the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development:

Will Dunlop, Director, Resources Policy and Transfers Directorate.

On Bill C-39:

From the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development:

John Merritt, Senior Advisor, Nunavut Secretariat;

Gilles Binda, Senior Policy Advisor, Nunavut Secretariat.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chairman

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Beaudoin, Berntson, Chalifoux, Fairbairn, P.C., *Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), *Lynch-Staunton, (or Kinsella (acting)), Pearson, St. Germain, P.C., Taylor

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Fairbairn substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Forest (June 9, 1998).

Back to top