Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON

Tuesday, May 11, 1999

Issue No. 37

Twenty-second meeting on: The present state and future of agriculture in Canada, consideration of the effect of international trade issues on farm income


The Honourable Lyle Vanclief, P.C., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food


From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Mr. Frank Claydon, Deputy Minister;

Ms Michelle Comeau, Associate Deputy Minister;

Mr. Tom Richardson, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Branch;

Dr. Brian Morrissey, Assistant Deputy Minister; Research Branch;

Mr. Paul Martin, Director, Multilateral Trade Policy Division, International Trade Policy Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch.

From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Mr. Ron Doering, President, Canadian Food Inspection Agency;

Ms Margaret Kenny, Associate Director, Biotechnology Strategies and Coordination Office.


The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Chair

The Honourable Eugene Whelan, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Chalifoux, Fairbairn, P.C., * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Rivest, Robichaud, P.C. (Saint-Louis-de-Kent ), Rossiter, Sparrow, Spivak, Stratton, Taylor

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Sparrow substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Hervieux-Payette (May 11, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Gustafson substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Kinsella (May 10, 1999).