Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LISE BACON

Tuesday, March 24, 1998

Issue No. 8

Third and final meeting on: Examination of Bill C-17, An Act to amend the Telecommunications Act and the Teleglobe Canada Reorganization and Divestiture Act


The Honourable John Manley, P.C., M.P., Minister of Industry


From Industry Canada:

Larry Shaw, Director.

From the Competition Bureau:

Conrad van Finckenstein, Director of Investigation and Research;

Robert Lancop, Assistant Deputy Director of Investigation and Research, Civil Matters.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chairman

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Bryden, Buchanan, P.C., De Bané, P.C., * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Johnson, Johnstone, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Poulin, Roberge, Rompkey, P.C., Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Johnstone substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Perrault (March 24, 1998).

Back to top