Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable NICK G. SIBBESTON

Tuesday, May 17, 2005

Issue No. 8

Second meeting on:

Subject-matter of Bill S-16, An Act providing for the Crown's recognition of self-governing First Nations of Canada


As indivuals:

Patrick Macklem, Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto;

Donald Laverdure, Assistant Professor of Law, Director of the Indigenous Law Program, Michigan State University College of Law.


The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Chair

The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, *Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Buchanan, P.C., Christensen, Fitzpatrick, Gustafson, *Kinsella, (or Stratton), Léger, Pearson, Peterson, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Tardif, substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Peterson (May 16, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Peterson, substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Tardif (May 17, 2005).

Back to top