Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable NICK G. SIBBESTON

Wednesday, October 26, 2005
Thursday, October 27, 2005
Friday, October 28, 2005

Issue No. 13

Sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth meetings on:

The involvement of Aboriginal communities and businesses in economic development activities in Canada


Wednesday, October 26, 2005 - Morning meeting

Westbank First Nation:

Robert Louie, Chief;

Mike De Guevara, Councillor.

Okanagan Nation Alliance:

Christina Rowland, Economic Development Officer.

Indian Taxation Advisory Board:

Clarence (Manny) Jules, Chairman.

All Nations Trust Company:

Ruth Williams, CEO.

Brenco Media Inc.:

Brenda Chambers, Owner.

Wednesday, October 26, 2005 - Afternoon meeting

Okanagan Indian Band:

Tim Isaac, Band Councillor.

Ktunaxa Nation Council:

Sophie Pierre, Chief, St. Mary's Indian Band.

Osoyoos Indian Band:

Clarence Louie, Chief.

Thursday, October 27, 2005 - Morning meeting

Tsuu T'ina Nation:

Lyle Dodginghorse, Councillor;

Peter K. Manywounds, Special Projects Consultant.

Treaty 7 Management Corporation:

Edwina Stump, CEO;

Ryan Robb, Business Development Officer.

Athabasca Tribal Council:

Roy Vermillion, CEO.

Sunchild E-Learning Community:

Harry Goodrunning, Education Portfolio Holder, Sunchild First Nation;

Nelson Daychief, Chairman of the Board and Education Director;

Martin Sacher, CEO and Program Administrator.

First Nations Oil and Gas Pilot Project:

Leonard Good Eagle, Chair;

Harley Frank;

Kirby Manyfingers.

Thursday, October 27, 2005 - Afternoon meeting

Metis Settlements General Council:

Alden Armstrong, President.

Metis Nation of Alberta:

Karen Collins, Minister of Economic Development;

John Parkins, Economic Development Sector Advisor.

Western Cree Tribal Council:

Richard Kappo, Grand Chief.

Little Red River Cree Nation:

Larry Hutchinson, Senior Administrative Officer;

Patrick Cleary, Senior Research Advisor.

Indian Resource Council:

Roy Fox, President;

Kirk Purdy, Investment Sector;

Larry Kaida, Assistant to the President.

Friday, October 28, 2005

Siksika Resource Developments Ltd.:

Clement Doore, Chief Executive Officer;

Trent Blind, Chief Financial Officer.

Piikuni Utilities Corporation:

William Big Bull, Energy Manager.

Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta:

Bert Crowfoot, CEO, Publisher and Founder.

Henry Bird Steinhauer Development Foundation Ltd.:

Melvin Steinhauer, President;

Arthur New, Business Manager.

Nakoda-Wesley First Nation:

Ron Stonier, Economic Development Officer;

Trent Fox, Program Manager.


The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Chair

The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, *Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Buchanan, P.C., Campbell, Christensen, Fitzpatrick, Gustafson,  *Kinsella (or Stratton), Lovelace Nicholas, Pearson, Peterson, Zimmer

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top