Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, October 25, 2006 (in camera)
Thursday, October 26, 2006

Issue No. 7

Future business of the committee


Second meeting on:

Bill C-5, An Act respecting the establishment of the Public Health Agency of Canada and amending certain acts


Thursday, October 26, 2006

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Dr. David Butler-Jones, Chief Public Health Officer.

Assembly of First Nations:

Dr. Valerie Gideon, Director of Health;

Dr. Kim Barker, Special Public Health Advisor.

Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami:

Mary Simon, President;

John Merritt, Legal Counsel, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated;

Onalee Randell, Director of Health.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Carstairs, Champagne, P.C., Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., *Hays (or Fraser), *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Nancy Ruth, Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to the rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Carstairs was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Cowan (October 25, 2006).