Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006-07

Chair: The Honourable JOYCE FAIRBAIRN, P.C.

Wednesday, February 21, 2007
Thursday, February 22, 2007
Friday, February 23, 2007

Issue No. 17

Twenty-seventh, twenty-eighth, twenty-ninth, thirtieth and thirty-first meetings on:

Rural poverty in Canada


Wednesday, February 21, 2007

As an indivudial:

Guy Lanteigne.

Comité des 12 pour la justice sociale:

Claude Snow, Spokesperson.

Common Front for Social Justice of New Brunswick:

John Gagnon, Co-Chair;

Claudia Parks, Member;

Cathy Mailloux, Secretary.

Atelier RADO:

David Couturier, General Manager.

Thursday, February 22, 2007 (morning meeting)

Town of Annapolis Royal:

John Kinsella, Mayor.

County of Annapolis:

Keith Robicheau, Chief Administrative Officer;

Peter Newton, Warden.

Nova Scotia Legal Aid, Annapolis Royal Office:

Darren MacLeaod, Managing Lawyer.

Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives:

Pauline Raven, Research Associate.

Nova Scotia Co-operative Council:

Jonathan McClelland, Business Development Officer (Western Region).

Annapolis County Federation of Agriculture:

Robert Nobel, Vice-President.

Open Arms Resource Centre:

John Andrews, Emergency Shelter Coordinator;

Doug Greene, Volunteer.

Women's Place Resource Centre:

Della Longmire, Executive Director.

As an individual:

Timothy Hennigar, Farmer, Member of Council of Leaders at the Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture.

Thursday, February 22, 2007 (afternoon meeting)

As an individual:

Russell Ward.

Annapolis and Area Food Bank Society:

Bill Goucher, President;

Frances Rafuse, Volunteer Treasurer.

Friday, February 23, 2007 (morning meeting)

Affordable Housing Association:

Claudia Jahn, Executive Board Member.

Antigonish Women's Resource Centre;

Lucille Harper, Executive Director.

Pictou County Women's Centre:

Bernadette MacDonald, Executive Director.

As an individual:

Bill Casey, M.P. for Cumberland—Colchester, Nova Scotia.

Poverty Action Committee:

Sharon Murphy, Chair.

Colchester Regional Development Agency:

Anna Parks, Community Economic Development Officer.

Friday, February 23, 2007 (afternoon meeting)

Colchester Food Bank Association:

Karen Dykens, Volunteer.

Rural Communities Foundation of Nova Scotia:

Pam Harrison, Co-Chair;

Jayne Hunter, Director.

As an individual:

Ed McMaster;

Barton Cutten.


The Honourable Joyce Fairbairn, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Biron, Callbeck, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C., (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Mahovlich, Mercer, Oliver, Peterson, Segal, St. Germain, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)