Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2007-08

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, January 30, 2008
Thursday, January 31, 2008
Thursday, February 7, 2008

Issue No. 3

First and second meetings on:

Issues relating to the federal government's new Science and Technology (S&T) Strategy — Mobilizing Science and Technology to Canada's Advantage


Fifth meeting on:

The impact of the multiple factors and conditions that contribute to the health of Canada's populations — known collectively as the social determinants of health


Current social issues pertaining to Canada's largest cities (To study the subjects of poverty, housing and homelessness and refer the evidence to the two subcommittees)


Thursday, January 31, 2008

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., M.P.,Minister of Industry


Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada:

Robert Best, Vice President, National Affairs Branch.


Peter Brenders, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Natural Science and Engineering Research Council:

Suzanne Fortier, President.

Canada Foundation for Innovation:

Eliot Phillipson, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Institute of Health Research:

Pierre Chartrand, Acting President.

Thursday, January 31, 2008

Networks of Centres of Excellence:

Jean-Claude Gavrel, Associate Vice-President.

National Research Council:

Dr. Pierre Coulombe, President.

Industry Canada:

Richard Dicerni, Deputy Minister;

Iain Stewart, Director General, Policy Branch.

Thursday, February 7, 2008

Canadian Teachers' Federation:

Emily Noble, President.

Canadian Nurses Association:

Nicki Sims-Jones, Policy Consultant.

First Call BC Child and Youth Advocacy Coalition:

Michael Goldberg, Chair.

Montreal Diet Dispensary:

Marie-Paule Duquette, Executive Director.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brown, Callbeck, Champagne, P.C., Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., *Hervieux-Payette, P.C., (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Munson, Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top