Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009
Tuesday, March 3, 2009
Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Issue No. 1

Organization meeting
First and second meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and on other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada

(Expenses of the committee incurred during the Second Session of the Thirty-ninth Parliament — rule 104)


Wednesday, March 3, 2009

Statistics Canada:

Jane Badets, Director, Social and Aboriginal Statistics;

Cathy Connors, Assistant Director, Social and Aboriginal Statistics.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Éric Guimond, Senior Research Manager;

Andrew Beynon, Director General, Research Branch.

Thursday, March 4, 2009

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Daniel Watson, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Strategic Direction;

Christine Cram, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships;

Fred Caron, Assistant Deputy Minister, Office of the Federal Interlocutor for Metis and Non-Status Indians;

Danielle Labonté, Director General, Northern Strategic Policy Branch;

Christopher Duschenes, Executive Director, Inuit Relations Secretariat.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Brown, Campbell, Carstairs, C.P., *Cowan (or Tardif), Dyck, Hubley, Lang, *LeBreton, C.P. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Raine, Sibbeston, St. Germain, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Watt (March 5, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (March 4, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (February 24, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (February 24, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (February 23, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas (February 23, 2009).

Back to top