Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009
Wednesday, April 22, 2009
Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Issue No. 4

Seventh and eighth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and on other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada

First meeting on:

Bill C-5, An Act to amend the Indian Oil and Gas Act


The Honourable Chuck Strahl, P.C., M.P., Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Metis and Non-Status Indians

John Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development


Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Sheila Fraser, Auditor General of Canada;

Ronald Campbell, Assistant Auditor General;

Frank Barrett, Principal.

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

John Dempsey, Director, Policy, Indian Oil and Gas Canada.

Justice Canada:

Karl Jacques, Senior Counsel.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Brown, Campbell, Carstairs, P.C., *Cowan  (or Tardiff), Dyck, Hubley, Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Raine

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Hounourable Senator Sibbeston replaced the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (April 23, 2009).

The Hounourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. replaced the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (April 23, 2009).

The Hounourable Senator Carstairs, P.C. replaced the Honourable Senator Cook (April 23, 2009).

The Hounourable Senator Brazeau replaced the Hounourable Senator Nolin (April 23, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Nolin replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (April 22, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Cook replaced the Honourable Senator Carstairs, P.C. (April 21, 2009).

Back to top