Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Issue No. 15

Twenty-fourth and twenty-fifth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and on other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Issues pertaining to Indian Act elections)


Tuesday, September 29, 2009 — morning meeting

Upper Nicola Indian Band:

Tim Manuel, Chief.

Spallumcheen First Nation:

Wayne Christian, Chief.

As an individual:

Joanne Teegee, Saik'uz First Nation.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009 — afternoon

As an individual:

Joanne Teegee, Saik'uz First Nation.

Westbank First Nation:

Larry Derrickson, Councillor.

As an individual:

Virginia George, Elder, Saik'uz First Nation.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Brown ,Campbell, Carstairs, C.P., * Cowan (or Tardif), Dyck, Hubley, Lang, *LeBreton, C.P. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Peterson, Raine

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top