Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009
Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Issue No. 23

Fortieth and forty-first meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty,  political and legal responsibilities to First Nations,  Inuit and Metis peoples and on other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal  Peoples of Canada


Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Gitxsan Hereditary Chiefs:

Elmer Derrick, Chief Negotiator.

Gitxsan Treaty Society:

Gordon Sebastian, Executive Director and Negotiator;

Bev Clifton Percival, Negotiator;

Gordon Gibson, Adviser;

Tex Enemark, Adviser.

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Betty Ann Lavallée, National Chief.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:
Brazeau, Campbell, Carstairs, P.C., *Cowan  (or Tardif), Dyck, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Patterson, Peterson, Raine, Stewart Olsen

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Merchant (December 3, 2009).

Back to top