Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Official Languages

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable MARIA CHAPUT

Monday, November 23, 2009
Monday, November 30, 2009

Issue No. 13

Twentieth and twenty-first meetings on:

The application of the Official Languages Act and of the regulations and directives made under it, within those institutions subject to the act (Study on Part VII and other issues) (Olympic and Paralympic 2010 Winter Games)


Monday, November 23, 2009

The Honourable Keith Ashfield, P.C., M.P., Minister of State for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency


Monday, November 23, 2009

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Pat Teolis, Acting Assistant Commissioner, Protective Policing Branch;

Chief Superintendant Alain Tousignant, Director General, Learning and Development;

Nathalie Ferreira, Director, Directorate of Official Languages.

Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency:

Paul J. Leblanc, Executive Vice-President.

Mr. Tousignant made an opening statement and, with Mr. Teolis and Ms. Ferreira, answered questions.

Monday, November 30, 2009

Resort Municipality of Whistler, B.C.:

Ken Melamed, Mayor (by video conference).

City of Vancouver, B.C.:

Penny Ballem, City Manager (by video conference).

Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games:

John Furlong, Chief Executive Officer (by video conference);

Donna Wilson, Executive Vice-President, Human Resources, Sustainability and International Client Services (by video conference);

Elisabeth Lefrançois, Official Languages Advisor (by video conference);

Robert Cousin, Consultant, Official Languages (by video conference).

Vancouver Airport Authority:

Paul Levy, Vice-President, Planning, 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games;

Rebecca Catley, Director Communications, Planning, 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games;

Danielle Moore, Liaison Language Services, Planning, 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games.


The Honourable Maria Chaput, Chair

The Honourable Andrée Champagne, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Fortin-Duplessis, Jaffer, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Losier-Cool, Mockler, Pépin, Seidman, Tardif

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top