Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session
Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009
Wednesday, October 28, 2009
Thursday, October 29, 2009

Issue No. 8

First, second and third meetings on:

Bill C-6, An Act respecting the safety of consumer products


Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Health Canada:

Paul Glover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch;

Robert Ianiro, Director, Consumer Product Safety;

Charles Ethier, Director General, Consumer Product Safety Directorate;

Diane Labelle, General Counsel, Legal Services Unit.

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Canadian Consumer Product Safety Coalition:

Warrington Ellacott, Vice-Chair, Canadian Appliance Manufacturers Association, Electro-Federation Canada.

Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers:

Charles Samuels, General Counsel.

Option Consommateurs:

Geneviève Reed, Head of Research and Representation Services.

Canadian Toy Association:

Peter Irwin, Director of the Canadian Toy Association Board.

Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association:

Shannon Coombs, President.

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Canadian Standards Association:

Doug Geralde, Director, Regulator Relations.

Safe Kids Canada:

Pamela Fuselli, Executive Director.

Environmental Defence:

Rick Smith, Executive Director.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Banks, Callbeck, Cordy, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dyck, Eaton, Fairbairn, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Martin, Ogilvie, Pépin, Segal

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Banks replaced the Honourable Munson (October 29, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Dawson (October 8, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Dawson replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (October 8, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Cook (October 6, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Cordy replaced the Honourable Senator Dawson (October 1, 2009).

Back to top