Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, March 23, 2010
Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Issue No. 2

Second and third meetings on:
The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada
(Specific Claims)
(Perspectives on the Gitxsan Alternative Governance Model)


Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Michel Roy, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Anik Dupont, Director General, Specific Claims.

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Gitanmaax Band Council:

Marjorie McRae, Chief, Director, Gitxsan Government Commission.

As an individual:

Geraldine McDougall, Gitxsan Hereditary Chief Spookw.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Fairbairn, P.C., Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Patterson, Poirier, Raine, Stewart Olsen

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (March 23, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Ogilvie (March 18, 2010).

Back to top