Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010
Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Issue No. 7

Thirteenth and fourteenth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Issues concerning First Nations education)


Tuesday, June 1, 2010


Northern Nishnawbe Education Council:

Barry McLoughlin, Director of Lifelong Learning.

Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre:

Gwen Merrick, Associate Executive Director.

Indigenous Education Coalition:

Bruce Stonefish, Executive Director.

Ontario Native Education Counselling Association:

Cindy Fisher, President.

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Simon Fraser University, C.D. Howe Institute:

John Richards, Professor, Public Policy Program.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Eaton, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Patterson, Peterson, Poirier, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (June 2, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Kochhar (June 1, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Kochhar replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (May 31, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (May 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Kochhar (May 13, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Brazeau replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (May 13, 2010).

Back to top