Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010
Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Issue No. 8

Fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Issues concerning First Nations Education)

(Special Study Budget 2010-2011 — Examination of federal government's constitutional and legal responsibilities to Aboriginal peoples)


Tuesday, June 8, 2010

First Nations Education Council:

Lise Bastien, Director.

Institut Tshakapesh:

Denis Vollant, Executive Director.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Mount Pleasant Educational Services Inc.:

Corinne Mount Pleasant-Jetté, President.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation:

Roberta Jamieson, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Noella Steinhauer, Director of Education.

As an individual:

David Newhouse, Chair and Associate Professor, Indigenous Studies, Trent University.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Patterson, Poirier, Raine, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Dallaire (June 11, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Cordy (June 8, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Dallaire replaced the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (June 8, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (June 7, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Cordy replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (June 4, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (June 3, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (June 3, 2010).

Back to top