Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010-11

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, March 8, 2011
Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Issue No. 20

Eighth and ninth meetings on:

Bill S-11, An Act respecting the safety of drinking water on first nation lands


Tuesday, March 8, 2011

The Honourable John Duncan, P.C., M.P., Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians and Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency


Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Gail Mitchell, Director General, Community Infrastructure Branch, Regional Operations Sector;

Karl Carisse, Senior Director, Innovation and Major Policy Transformation, Regional Operations Sector.

Department of Justice Canada:

Paul Salembier, General Counsel.

Health Canada:

Michel Roy, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Ivy Chan, Director, Environmental Public Health Division.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Assembly of First Nations (by video conference):

Shawn (A-in-chut) Atleo, National Chief;

Irving Leblanc, Acting Director, Housing and Infrastructure.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:
Ataullahjan, Banks, Brazeau, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dallaire, Demers, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Poirier, Raine, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (March 8, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (March 8, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas (March 8, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (March 4, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Greene (March 3, 2011).

Back to top