Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable JOSEPH A. DAY

Monday, June 14, 2010
Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Issue No. 9

First, second and third meetings on:

Bill C-9, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 4, 2010 and other measures


Monday, June 14, 2010

Department of Finance Canada:

Gérard Lalonde, Director, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch;

Tim Wach, Office of the Assistant Deputy Minister;

Carlos Achadinha, Legislative Chief, Sales Tax Division, Public Sector Bodies;

Pierre Mercille, Senior Legislative Chief, GST Legislation.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010 (morning meeting)

Privy Council Office:

Ron Wall, Director, Parliamentary Affairs;

Claudette Levesque, Director, Appointments and Selection Processes, Senior Personnel;

Karl Salgo, Director, Strategic Policy, Machinery of Government.

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada:

Rakesh Patry, Director, International Policy and Agreement.

Department of Finance Canada:

Jennifer Purves, Senior Economist, International Trade and Finance.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010 (afternoon meeting)

Department of Finance Canada:

Leah Anderson, Director, Financial Sector Division;

Jeremy Rudin, Assitant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Kevin Thomas, Senior Economist, Payments, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Pascale Dugré-Sasseville, Chief, Consumer Issues, Financial Institution Division;

Rachel Grasham, Chief, Financial Crimes — Domestic, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Annik Bordeleau, Senior Project Leader, Financial Crimes — Domestic, Financial Sector Policy Branch.


The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Chair

The Honourable Irving Gerstein, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dickson, Finley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Marshall, Murray, P.C., Neufeld, Poulin, Ringuette, Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Callbeck replaced the Honourable Senator Chaput (June 14, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Chaput replaced the Honourable Senator Callbeck (June 11, 2010).