Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010-11

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, March 2, 2011
Thursday, March 3, 2011

Issue No. 21

Sixth meeting on:

Current social issues pertaining to Canada's largest cities

First meeting on:

Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act


Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Allan MacDonald, Director General, Office of the Federal Interlocutor;

Denis Carignan, Director, Office of the Federal Interlocutor, Saskatchewan.

Statistics Canada:

Jane Badets, Director General, Census Subject Matter, Social and Demographic Statistics Branch;

Cathy Connors, Assistant Director, Social and Aboriginal Statistics.

Métis National Council:

David Chartrand, Vice-President.

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Betty Ann Lavallée, National Chief;

Randy Martin, National Bilateral Director.

Assembly of First Nations:

Rick Simon, Regional Chief, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Canadian Association of Professional Immigration Consultants:

Phil Mooney, Past President.

Larlee Rosenberg, Barristers and Solicitors:

Ryan Rosenberg, Lawyer.

Canadian Society of Immigration Consultants:

Nigel Thomson, Chair;

John Ryan, Chief Executive Officer.

Center for Immigration Policy Reform:

James Bissett, Member of the Advisory Board.

Kurland Tobe Lawyer:

Richard Kurland, Lawyer.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Braley, Callbeck, Champagne, P.C., Cordy, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, Eaton, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Martin, Merchant, Seidman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top