Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Thursday, October 18, 2012

Issue No. 23

Thirty-second and thirty-third meetings on:

The research and innovation efforts in the agricultural sector


Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Carleton University:

Maria DeRosa, Associate Professor, Chemistry.

University of Guelph:

Suresh Neethirajan, Bionano Lab.

Grain Farmers of Ontario:

Henry VanAnkum, Chair;

Terry Daynard, Consultant.

Canadian Renewable Fuels Association:

W. Scott Thurlow, President.

Greenfield Ethanol:

Malcolm West, Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

University of Saskatchewan:

Richard S. Gray, Professor, Bioresource Policy, Business and Economics.

University of Guelph:

John Cranfield, Professor, Department of Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics (by video conference).

Conference Board of Canada:

Len Coad, Director, Energy, Environment and Technology Policy.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Fernand Robichaud, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Buth, Callbeck, *Cowan (or Tardif), Duffy, Eaton, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Mahovlich, Maltais, Mercer, Merchant, Plett, Rivard

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Nolin (October 19, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Callbeck replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (October 18, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Callbeck (October 18, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Nolin replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (October 18, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Callbeck replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (October 15, 2012).