Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Wednesday, June 20, 2012
Thursday, June 21, 2012

Issue No. 22

First and second (final) meeting on:

The proposed Firearms Information Regulations (Non-Restricted Firearms)

(The proposed Firearms Information Regulations (Non-Restricted Firearms))


Wednesday, June 20, 2012

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety


Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Mario Harel, Vice-President, Chief, Service de police de la Ville de Gatineau.

Ontario Provincial Police:

Superintendent Chris Wyatt, Chief Firearms Officer.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

John Robert Ervin, Chief Firearms Officer, Saskatchewan.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Canadian Sports Shooting Association:

Steve Torino, President.

Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters:

Greg Farrant, Manager, Government Affairs and Policy.

Groupe des étudiants et diplômés de Polytechnique pour le contrôle des armes (Polysesouvient):

Heidi Rathjen, Spokesperson.

Project Ploughshares:

Kenneth Epps, Senior Program Officer.

Canadian Police Association:

Tom Stamatakis, President (by video conference).

As an individual:

Solomon Friedman, Lawyer.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dagenais, Joyal, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Peterson, Unger, Wallace, White

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Wallace replaced the Honourable Senator Di Nino (June 21, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Angus replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (June 21, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Angus (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Jaffer (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Chaput (June 14, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Joyal, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Merchant (June 14, 2012).

Back to top