Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12-13

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Wednesday, June 12, 2013
Thursday, June 13, 2013

Issue No. 40

First and second meetings on:

Bill C-51, An Act to amend the Witness Protection Program Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act

Fourth meeting on:

Bill C-350, An Act to amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (accountability of offenders)


Wednesday, June 12, 2013

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety


Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Public Safety Canada:

Trevor Bhupsingh, Director General, Law Enforcement and Border Strategies Directorate.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Superintendent Stephen Foster, Director, Witness Protection Program;

Ian Bradley, Counsel, Legal Services.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Ontario Provincial Police:

Deputy Commissioner Scott Tod, Investigations and Organized Crime.

As an individual:

Richard Dupuis.

Canadian Police Association:

Tom Stamatakis, President (by video conference).

Commission for Public Complaints Against the RCMP:

Ian McPhail, interim chair;

Lisa-Marie Inman, Director, Reviews and Investigations;

Joanne Gibb, Senior Policy Advisor, Operations.

As an individual:

Yvon Dandurand, Criminologist, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, University of the Fraser Valley.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Baker, P.C., Batters, Boisvenu, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dagenais, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), McIntyre, Plett, Rivest, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (June 12, 2013).

Back to top