Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable RICHARD NEUFELD

Thursday, September 18, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014

Issue No. 15

First, second and third meetings on:

Bill S-6, An Act to amend the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act and the Nunavut Waters and Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal


The Honourable Bernard Valcourt, P.C., M.P., Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development


Thursday, September 18, 2014

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Tara Shannon, Director, Resource Policy and Programs, Northern Affairs;

Janice Traynor, Senior Analyst, Environment and Renewable Resources.

Department of Justice Canada:

Tom Isaac, Senior Counsel.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Yukon Government:

The Honourable Darrell Pasloski, Premier of Yukon;

Julie Stinson, Development Assessment Process Manager.

Government of Nunavut:

The Honourable Johnny Mike, M.L.A., Minister of Environment;

Thursday, September 25, 2014 Council of Yukon First Nations:

Ruth Massie, Grand Chief;

Daryn R. Leas, Legal Counsel.

Little-Salmon/Carmacks First Nation:

Eric Fairclough, Chief.

Champagne and Aishihik First Nations:

Mary Jane Jim, Councilor;

Brian MacDonald, Legal Counsel;

Roger Brown, Manager of Environment and Natural Resources.

Yukon Energy Corporation:

David Morrison, President and CEO.


The Honourable Richard Neufeld, Chair

The HonourablePaul J. Massicotte, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Black, Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), MacDonald, Mitchell, Patterson, Ringuette, Seidman, Sibbeston, Wallace

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator MacDonald replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (September 24, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (September 22, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (September 18, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (September 17, 2014).