Skip to content
ENEV - Standing Committee

Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable RICHARD NEUFELD

Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014

Issue No. 21

First meeting:

Study on emerging issues related to its mandate


First meeting:

Bill C-22, An Act respecting Canada's offshore oil and gas operations, enacting the Nuclear Liability and Compensation Act, repealing the Nuclear Liability Act and making consequential amendments to other Acts

 (''One Call'')


Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Julie Gelfand, Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development;

James McKenzie, Principal;

Kimberley Leach, Principal;

Bruce Sloan, Principal.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Natural Resources Canada:

Jeff Labonté, Director General, Energy Safety and Security Branch, Energy Sector;

Niall O'Dea, Director General, Electricity Resources Branch, Energy Sector;

Samuel Millar, Senior Director, Petroleum Resources Branch, Energy Sector;

David McCauley, Director, Uranium and Radioactive Waste Division, Energy Sector.

Justice Canada:

Jean-François Roman, Counsel, Natural Resources Canada, Legal Services;

Norma Beech, Counsel, Natural Resources Canada, Legal Services.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Michel Chénier, Director, Natural Resources and Environment Branch.

Environment Canada:

Laura Farquharson, Executive Director, Legislative Governance, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Environmental Stewardship Branch.


The Honourable Richard Neufeld, Chair

The Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), MacDonald, Mitchell, Patterson, Ringuette, Seidman, Sibbeston, Tannas, Wallace

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Black (December 10, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Verner, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (December 2, 2014).

Back to top