Skip to content
POFO - Standing Committee

Fisheries and Oceans

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable FABIAN MANNING

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Issue No. 9

Eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth meetings on:

The regulation of aquaculture, current challenges and future prospects for the industry in Canada


Tuesday, May 27, 2014 (morning sitting)

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador:

The Honourable Keith Hutchings, Member of the House of Assembly for Ferryland, Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture.

Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture:

Brian Meaney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Aquaculture;

Dr. Daryl Whelan, Director/Provincial Aquaculture Veterinarian.

Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association:

Cyr Couturier, President;

Miranda Pryor, Executive Director.

Northern Sea Harvest Farms Ltd.:

Jennifer Caines, Project Manager.

Sweeney International Marine Corp. and SIMCorp. Marine Environmental Inc.:

Robert Sweeney, President and Senior Project Manager.

Newfoundland Aqua Service Ltd:

Boyd Pack, Owner and President.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014 (afternoon sitting)

Sunrise Fish Farms Inc.:

Dr. Laura Halfyard, General Manager.

Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association:

Miranda Pryor, Executive Director.

Badger Bay Mussel Farms Ltd.:

Rebecca White, Project Manager.

Town of St. Alban's, Newfoundland and Labrador:

Jamie LeRoux, Mayor.

Town of Harbour Breton, Newfoundland and Labrador:

Roy Drake, Mayor.

As individuals:

Danny Boyce, Facility and Business Manager, Ocean Sciences Centre, Memorial University of Newfoundland;

Dr. Jillian Westcott, Aquaculture Instructor and Researcher, School of Fisheries, Fisheries and Marine Institute, Memorial University;

Cyr Couturier, Research Scientist and Chair, Aquaculture Programs, Fisheries and Marine Institute, Memorial University.

Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association:

Darrell Green, Research and Development Coordinator.

Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly:

Jim Bennett, member of the House of Assembly for St. Barbe.

Salmonid Council of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Donald L. Hutchens, President.

Newfoundland and Labrador Outfitters Association:

Tony Tuck, Chair, Fishing Committee.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014 (evening sitting)

Collier Aqua Service Ltd.:

Clyde Collier, Aquaculture Management Consultant.

Miawpukek First Nation:

Shayne McDonald, Lawyer and Director of Justice.


The Honourable Fabian Manning, Chair

The Honourable Elizabeth Hubley, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Enverga, Lovelace Nicholas, McInnis, Mercer, Munson, Poirier, Raine, Stewart Olsen, Wells

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Mercer replaced the Honourable Senator Baker, P.C. (May 23, 2014).

Back to top