Skip to content
TRCM - Standing Committee

Transport and Communications

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable DENNIS DAWSON

Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Wednesday, May 7, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Issue No. 6

First, second, third and fourth meetings on:

The subject-matter of those elements contained in Divisions 15, 16 and 28 of Part 6 of Bill C-31, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 11, 2014 and other measures

Third meeting on:

BCE Inc. (Bell Canada) and the Privacy Commissioner of Canada regarding the practice of collecting and analyzing data from Bell Canada customers for commercial purposes including targeted advertising

Twelfth meetings on:

The challenges faced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation in relation to the changing environment of broadcasting and communications


Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Transport Canada:

Donald Roussel, Director General, Marine Safety;

Kash Ram, Director General, Road Safety and Motor Vehicle Regulation;

Michel Leclerc, Director, Regulatory Affairs Coordination;

Linda Wilson, Counsel, Legal Services;

Thao Pham, Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal Montreal Bridges;

Isabelle Jacques, General Counsel and Associate Head.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC):

Chris Seidl, Executive Director, Telecommunications;

Alastair Stewart, Senior Legal Counsel.

Industry Canada:

Pamela Miller, Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch;

Christopher Johnstone, Senior Director, Industry Framework Policy.

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Public Interest Advocacy Centre:

John Lawford, Executive Director and General Counsel;

Geoff White, Legal Counsel.

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Automotive Parts Manufacturers' Association:

Steve Rodgers, President.


The Honourable Dennis Dawson, Chair

The Honourable Leo Housakos, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Demers, Eggleton, P.C., Greene, MacDonald, Manning, Mercer, Merchant, Plett, Verner, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Batters (May 8, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Batters replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (May 7, 2014).

Back to top