Skip to content
POFO - Standing Committee

Fisheries and Oceans

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable FABIAN MANNING

Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016 (morning meeting)
Thursday, October 27, 2016 (afternoon meeting)

Issue No. 7

Eighth, ninth and tenth meetings:

Study on Maritime Search and Rescue activities, including current challenges and opportunities


Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Canadian Coast Guard:

Wade Spurrell, Assistant Commissioner, Atlantic Region;

Harvey Vardy, A/Superintendent, Maritime Search and Rescue, Joint Rescue Coordination Centre Halifax.

National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Major Rhonda Stevens, Officer in Charge, Joint Rescue Coordination Centre Halifax.

Canadian Coast Guard:

Brian LeBlanc, Executive Director, Canadian Coast Guard College.

Nova Scotia Community College:

Tom Gunn, Principal, Nautical Institute;

Vivek Saxena, Academic Chair, Nautical Institute.

Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary:

Frank Boudreau, President, Maritimes;

Darcy Henn, Manager, Maritimes.

Thursday, October 27, 2016 (morning meeting)

Atlantic Pilotage Authority Canada:

Captain Sean Griffiths, Chief Executive Officer.

Marine Atlantic:

Murray Hupman, Vice President (Operations);

Captain Shri Madiwal, Director Fleet Operations.

Canadian Council of Professional Fish Harvesters:

Jean Lanteigne, President.

Fisheries Safety Association of Nova Scotia:

Stewart Franck, Executive Director.

Prince Edward Island Fisherman's Association:

Craig Avery, President;

Mitchell Jollimore, Secretary.

Thursday, October 27, 2016 (afternoon meeting)

Independent Marine Ports Association of Canada:

Tim Gilfoy, President.

Bayside Port Corporation:

Darrell Weare, Chief Operating Officer.

As individuals:

Ronald Pelot, Professor, Marine Affairs Program, Department of Industrial Engineering, Dalhousie University;

Lois Drummond, Member, Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary.


The Honourable Fabian Manning, Chair

The Honourable Elizabeth Hubley, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Eaton, Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), McInnis, Munson, Poirier, Raine, Sinclair, Stewart Olsen, Wallace, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (October 19, 2016).

Back to top