Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable JIM MUNSON

Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Wednesday, June 7, 2017
Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Issue No. 19

Eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth meetings:
Study on the issues relating to the human rights of prisoners in the correctional system


Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Kim Beaudin, National Vice-Chief (by video conference).

As individuals:

Shane Partridge (by video conference);

Michelle Mann-Rempel, Lawyer/Consultant.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

As individuals:

Debbie Kilroy;

Amanda George.

Assembly of First Nations:

Stuart Wuttke, General Counsel.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Canadian Human Rights Commission:

Marie-Claude Landry, Chief Commissioner;

Fiona Keith, Legal Counsel, Legal Services Division;

Tabatha Tranquilla, Senior Policy Advisor, Policy, Research and International Division;

Marcella Daye, Senior Policy Advisor, Policy, Research and International Division.


The Honourable Jim Munson, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Bernard, Bovey, Eaton, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Hartling, Hubley, Martin, McPhedran, Ngo, Pate, *Smith (or Martin)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Bovey replaced the Honourable Senator Omidvar (June 13, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Fraser (June 7, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Fraser replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (June 6, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Hubley was added to the membership (May 23, 2017).