Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18


Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Saturday, August 11, 2018

Issue No. 32

Twenty-sixth and twenty-seventh meetings:
Study on the issues relating to the human rights of prisoners in the correctional system


Tuesday, August 7, 2018

As individuals:

Lisa Neve;

Clare McNab, Retired, Warden of Okimaw Ohci Healing Lodge and former Deputy Warden of Bowden Institution, Correctional Service Canada;

Toni Sinclair;

Travis Dugas.

John Howard Society of Alberta:

Chris Hay, Executive Director.

Correctional Service Canada Regional Ethnocultural Advisory Committee:

Anoush Newman;

Maria Morales.

Correctional Service Canada:

Sue Coatham, Parole Officer Supervisor, Calgary Area Parole Office.

Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta:

Arthur Noskey, Grand Chief.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

As individuals:

Wendy Bariteau;

Renee Acoby;

Aaron Devor, Founder and Inaugural Chair in Transgender Studies; Founder and Academic Director of the Transgender Archives; Professor of Sociology, University of Victoria;

Seamus Heffernan, Manager, Office of Jati Sidhu, M.P. for Mission—Matsqui—Fraser Canyon;

Kenneth Peterson;

Alia Pieriwi;

Eddie Rouse;

Marian Zadra.

West Coast Prison Justice Society:

Jennifer Metcalfe, Prisoners' Legal Services.

Correctional Service Canada Regional Ethnocultural Advisory Committee:

Siu Man (Sherman) Chan, Co-Chair.

B.C. Child and Youth Advocacy Coalition:

Dylan Cohen.

South Asian Bar Association of British Columbia:

Rubinder Dhanu, Lawyer, Dhanu Dhaliwal Law Group.

Collaborating Centre for Prison Health and Education:

Alison Granger-Brown, Independent Co-Investigator.

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies:

Gillian Gough, Regional Advocate.


The Honourable Wanda Elaine Thomas Bernard, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Jane Cordy, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Cormier, *Day (or Mercer), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Hartling, Martin, Ngo, Pate, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Seidman (June 18, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Andreychuk replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (June 18, 2018).