Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19


Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Issue No. 41

Eleventh and twelfth meetings:
Examine and monitor issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, to review the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations


Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada:

Anne Curley, Vice President.

Native Women's Association of Canada:

Francyne Joe, President;

Virginia Lomax, Legal Counsel.

Women of the Métis Nation:

Melanie Omeniho, President.

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Public Safety Canada:

John Davies, Director General, National Security Policy.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Andrew Lawrence, Acting Director General, Travellers Programs Directorate.

Transport Canada:

Wendy Nixon, Director General, Aviation Security.

No Fly List Kids:

Khadijah Cajee, Co-Founder.

Sarah Willson, Parent.

As an individual:

Bashir Ahmed Mohamed.


The Honourable Wanda Elaine Thomas Bernard, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Jane Cordy, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Cormier, *Day (or Mercer), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Hartling, McCallum, Ngo, Pate, *Smith (or Martin), Wells, *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Cormier replaced the Honourable Senator Boyer (May 7, 2019).

The Honourable Senator McCallum replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (May 7, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Hartling replaced the Honourable Senator Moncion (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Brazeau replaced the Honourable Senator LaBoucane-Benson (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Moncion replaced the Honourable Senator Hartling (April 10, 2019).

The Honourable Senator LaBoucane-Benson replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (April 10, 2019).