Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable DANIEL LANG

Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017

Issue No. 12

First meeting:

Bill S-233, An Act to amend the Customs Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (presentation and reporting requirements)


Seventh meeting:

Study on security threats facing Canada, including but not limited to: (a) Cyber espionage; (b) Threats to critical infrastructure; (c) Terrorist recruitment and financing; (d) Terrorist operations and prosecutions


Wednesday, February 8, 2017

As individuals:

The Honourable Senator Bob Runciman, sponsor of the bill;

Gord Brown, Member of Parliament for LeedsÐGrenvilleÐThousand Islands and Rideau Lakes;

Senator Patty Ritchie, New York State Senate.

1000 Islands International Tourism Council:

Gary DeYoung, Tourism Director.

DSN Consulting:

Scott Newark, Public Policy Consultant.

Monday, February 13, 2017

Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada:

Barry MacKillop, Deputy Director, Operations Sectors — Compliance and Intelligence;

Luc Beaudry, Assistant Director, Collaboration, Development and Research.

As an individual:

Christian Leuprecht, Professor, Department of Political Science and Economics, Royal Military College of Canada.

Royal United Services Institute:

Tom Keatinge, Director, Centre for Financial Crime and Security Studies (by video conference).

As an individual:

Matthew Levitt, Director, Stein Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence, The Washington Institute (by video conference).


The Honourable Daniel Lang, Chair

The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, Boniface, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Kenny, Lankin, P.C., McPhedran, Meredith, Saint-Germain, Smith, Tkachuk, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator Carignan, P.C. (February 13, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Smith replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (February 13, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Boniface replaced the Honourable Senator Wallin (February 8, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Wallin replaced the Honourable Senator Boniface (February 8, 2017).



Back to top