Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, February 5, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018

Issue No. 19

Thirteenth and fourteenth meetings:
Examine and report on Canada's national security and defence policies, practices, circumstances and capabilities


Monday, February 5, 2018

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission:

Scott Shortliffe, Chief Consumer Officer and Executive Director;

Rachelle Frenette, Acting General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director.

Pelmorex Weather Networks (Television) Inc.:

Paul Temple, Senior Vice-President, Strategic and Regulatory Affairs;

Martin Bélanger, Director, Public Alerting.

Monday, February 12, 2018

Global Affairs Canada:

David Drake, Director General, Counter-Terrorism, Crime and Intelligence Bureau.

Canadian Security Intelligence Service:

Jeff Yaworski, Deputy Director, Operations.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

James Malizia, Assistant Commissioner, National Security and Protective Policing.

Communications Security Establishment:

Shelly Bruce, Associate Chief.

Public Safety Canada:

Patrick Tanguy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Emergency Management and Programs;

Martin Joyal, Senior Director, Policy and Outreach Directorate.

Environment and Climate Change Canada:

Ken Macdonald, Executive Director, Meteorological Services of Canada.

Rogers Communications Inc.:

David Watt, Senior Vice-President, Regulatory and Chief Privacy Officer;

Gerry Thompson, Senior Manager, Wireless Regulation.

TELUS Communications:

Eric Edora, Director, Regulatory Affairs;

Carreen Unguran, Senior Regulatory Advisor.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, Brazeau, *Day (or Mercer), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Jaffer, McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Jaffer was added to the membership (February 2, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Kenny was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (February 2, 2018).