Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 (in camera)
Thursday, May 9, 2019

Issue No. 42

Fourth and fifth meetings:

Bill C-59, An Act respecting national security matters


First (final) meeting:

Study on the services and benefits provided to members of the Canadian Forces; to veterans; to members and former members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and their families


Monday, May 6, 2019

As an individual:

Jonatan Cotler, Israeli Intelligence Consultant.

Australia Strategic Policy Institute:

Isaac Kfir, Director, National Security Program and Head, Counter-terrorism Policy Centre (by video conference).

As an individual:

Richard Fadden, Former National Security Advisor and Director of CSIS.

Ligue des droits et libertés:

Alexandra Bahary, Lawyer, National Security;

Denis Barrette, Lawyer, National Security.

As an individual:

Mark Freiman, Former Lead Commission Counsel for the Air India Inquiry.

International Civil Liberties Monitoring Group:

Tim McSorley, National Coordinator.

Amnesty International Canada:

Alex Neve, Secretary General;

Justin Mohammed, Campaigner, Human Rights Law and Policy.

No Fly List Kids:

Dr. Ruby Alvi, Parent and Assistant Professor, University of Toronto;

Jeff Matthews, Parent and Canadian Armed Forces Veteran;

Khalid Elgazzar, Counsel.

The National Council of Canadian Muslims:

Mustafa Farooq, Executive Director;

Leila Nasr, Communications Coordinator.

Canadian Muslim Lawyers Association:

Yavar Hameed.

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Public Safety Canada:

John Davies, Director General, National Security Policy.

Canadian Security Intelligence Service:

Tricia Geddes, Assistant Director, Policy and Strategic Partnerships.

Communications Security Establishment:

Scott Millar, Deputy Chief, Policy and Communications.

Department of Justice Canada:

Doug Breithaupt, Director and General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boehm, Boisvenu, *Day (or Mercer), Gold, Griffin, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Plett, Pratte, Richards *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Boehm replaced the Honourable Senator Jaffer (May 9, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Wallin (May 3, 2019).

Back to top