Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, May 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Issue No. 43

Sixth (final) meeting:
Bill C-59, An Act respecting national security matters

First meeting:
Bill C-77, An Act to amend the National Defence Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts

(Bill C-59, An Act respecting national security matters)


Monday, May 13, 2019

Justice Canada:

Doug Breithaupt, Director and General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Canadian Security Intelligence Service:

Tricia Geddes, Assistant Director, Policy and Strategic Partnerships.

Communications Security Establishment:

Scott Millar, Deputy Chief, Policy and Communications.

Public Safety Canada:

John Davies, Director General, National Security Policy;

Sophie Beecher, Director of Intelligence Policy, National Security Policy Directorate.

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

As individuals:

Colonel Michel Drapeau, ret'd, Senior Counsel, Michel Drapeau Law Office;

Joshua Juneau, Barrister and Solicitor, Michel Drapeau Law Office.

Barreau du Québec:

Pascal Lévesque, Chair of the Committee on Criminal Law (by video conference).

Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime:

Heidi Illingworth, Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, Busson, *Day (or Mercer), Gold, Griffin, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Plett, Pratte, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Busson replaced the Honourable Senator Boehm (May 14, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (May 13, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (May 10, 2019).

Back to top