Studies & Bills

Information prior to the 40th Parliament is from notices of meetings. For the official record, please refer to the related minutes and transcripts.

There are limited electronic records available for the period prior to the 35th Parliament. For historical information, please contact: ctm@sen.parl.gc.ca or 1-800-267-7362

Studies & Bills Date Referred Session  note  note
Bill C-77, An Act concerning an order under the International Development (Financial Institutions) Assistance Act
(1997-04-22)
Tuesday, April 22, 1997 at 4:13 PM
Bill C-81, An Act to implement the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement and related agreements
(1997-04-10)
Tuesday, April 15, 1997 at 3:20 PM
Bill C-61, An Act to implement the Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement
(1996-11-28)
Tuesday, December 10, 1996 at 3:35 PM
Thursday, December 5, 1996 at 3:39 PM
Wednesday, December 4, 1996 at 3:21 PM
Tuesday, December 3, 1996 at 3:26 PM
Bill C-54, An Act to amend the Extraterritorial Measures Act
(1996-10-30)
The growing importance of the Asia Pacific region for Canada, with emphasis on the upcoming Asia Pacific Economic Cooperative (APEC) Conference to be held in Vancouver in the fall of 1997, Canada's year of Asia Pacific
(1996-10-03)
Wednesday, April 9, 1997 at 3:23 PM
Tuesday, April 8, 1997 at 4:00 PM
Tuesday, March 18, 1997 at 4:09 PM
Tuesday, March 11, 1997 at 4:03 PM
Wednesday, March 5, 1997 at 4:10 PM
Friday, February 7, 1997 at 9:04 AM
Thursday, February 6, 1997 at 9:05 AM
Wednesday, February 5, 1997 at 9:13 AM
Tuesday, December 10, 1996 at 3:35 PM
Wednesday, November 27, 1996 at 3:23 PM
Tuesday, November 26, 1996 at 4:07 PM
Wednesday, November 6, 1996 at 3:49 PM
Wednesday, October 30, 1996 at 3:25 PM
Report on the consequences of the economic integration of the European Union for the national governance of the member states
(1996-02-28)
Tuesday, June 18, 1996 at 4:02 PM
Thursday, June 13, 1996 at 12:15 PM
Wednesday, June 12, 1996 at 3:25 PM
Wednesday, June 5, 1996 at 3:20 PM
Tuesday, June 4, 1996 at 4:05 PM
Wednesday, April 24, 1996 at 3:15 PM
Wednesday, March 6, 1996 at 10:12 AM
Legend
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast
Meeting
Meeting
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness

Orders of Reference

A committee’s order of reference is the Order of the Senate that authorizes it to examine a bill or to undertake a special study. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. Three standing committees do, however, have permanent orders of reference, allowing them to undertake their work without waiting for a specific order of reference. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament (responsible for proposing amendments to the rules of the Senate, examining questions of privilege and consideration of the orders and customs of the Senate and privileges of Parliament), the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (responsible for the financial and administrative matters relating to the internal management of the Senate) and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.