Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Authorized to hear from time to time witnesses, including both individuals and representatives from organizations, on the present state and the future of agriculture and forestry in Canada
Thursday, March 25, 2004 at 8:37 AM
  • Anne Dunford, Senior Analyst; (Canadian Cattlemen's Association:)
  • Stan Eby, Vice-President; (Canadian Cattlemen's Association:)
  • Hugh Lynch-Staunton, Director; (Canadian Cattlemen's Association:)
  • Art Price (Sunterra Farms)
  • Doug Price, Director (Sunterra Farms)
Tuesday, March 23, 2004 at 5:35 PM
  • Garnett Altwasser. (Lakeside Packers Ltd.:)
  • Nick Jennery, President and Chief Executive Officer; (Canadian Council of Grocery Distributors:)
  • Kim McKinnon, Vice-President, Communications. (Canadian Council of Grocery Distributors:)
  • Brian Read. (Levinoff Meat Products Ltd.:)
  • Willie Van Solkema. (Cargill Foods:)
Thursday, March 11, 2004 at 8:30 AM
  • Bob Speller (The Honourable Bob Speller, P.C., M.P. Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
  • Richard B. Fadden, President (From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
  • Samy Watson, Deputy Minister (From the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:)
Tuesday, March 9, 2004 at 5:40 PM
  • Stuart Briese, President (Association of Manitoba Municipalities)
  • Neal Hardy, President (Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities)
  • Jack Hayden, President (Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties)
  • Terry Hildebrandt, President (Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan)
  • Bill Newton, President (Western Stock Growers' Association)
  • Marvin Shauf, Second Vice-President (Canadian Federation of Agriculture)
Thursday, February 26, 2004 at 8:38 AM
  • James Laws, Executive Director (Canadian Meat Council)
Tuesday, February 24, 2004 at 5:50 PM
  • Andrew Marsland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services Branch; (From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:)
  • Robert Carberry, Vice-President, Programs (From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
  • Brian Evans, Chief Veterinarian Officer for Canada (From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
  • Gilles Lavoie, Senior Director General, Operations, Market and Industry Services Branch. (From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:)
  • Tom Richardson, A/Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch (From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:)
Thursday, February 19, 2004 at 8:35 AM
  • Ed Fetting (As an individual)
  • John Kolk (As an individual)
The issues related to the development and marketing of value-added agricultural, agri-food and forest products, on the domestic and international markets
Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 5:50 PM
  • Don Dodds, Chair, Research and Technology Transfer Committee (From the Ontario Maple Syrup Producers Association:)
  • Mark Wheeler, Member of the Board of Directors (From the Ontario Maple Syrup Producers Association:)
Tuesday, May 4, 2004 at 6:20 PM
  • Linda Bramble, Industry Liaison (From Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture Institute:)
Thursday, April 29, 2004 at 8:35 AM
  • Gary B. Koestler, Deputy Director, Eastern Hemisphere Division, International Trade Policy Directorate; (Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:)
  • Bill Ross, President. (Canadian Vintners Association:)
  • Michael Presley, Director General, Food Value Chain Bureau, Food Safety and Quality, International Issues. (Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:)
Tuesday, April 27, 2004 at 6:15 PM
  • Tony Stewart, Proprietor. (Quail's Gate Estate Winery:)
Thursday, April 22, 2004 at 8:35 AM
  • Janine Gibson, President (Canadian Organic Growers)
  • Tom Manley, Board Member and Chair of the Ottawa Chapter (Canadian Organic Growers)
  • Laura Telford, Executive Director (Canadian Organic Growers)
Tuesday, April 20, 2004 at 6:45 PM
  • Dean Baglole, Chairman; (Atlantic Beef Producers Co-operative:)
  • Bryan Inglis, Member of the Board of Directors. (Atlantic Beef Producers Co-operative:)
Thursday, April 1, 2004 at 8:35 AM
  • Gordon Bacon, Chief Executive Officer; (Pulse Canada:)
  • Jack Froese, Chair. (Pulse Canada:)
Audio only
Audio only
Meeting notice
Meeting notice