Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Consideration of matters relating to the Conflict of Interest Code for Senators
2011-10-06
Thursday, June 20, 2013 at 3:06 PM
Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 2:36 PM
  • Deborah Palumbo, Assistant Senate Ethics Officer and General Counsel (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
  • Lyse Ricard, Senate Ethics Officer (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 2:36 PM
Tuesday, May 21, 2013 at 6:19 PM
  • Deborah Palumbo, Assistant Senate Ethics Officer and General Counsel (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
  • Lyse Ricard, Senate Ethics Officer (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 at 1:48 PM
Wednesday, February 27, 2013 at 2:39 PM
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 at 2:37 PM
  • Deborah Palumbo, Assistant Senate Ethics Officer and General Counsel (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
  • Lyse Ricard, Interim Senate Ethics Officer (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 2:32 PM
  • Deborah Palumbo, Assistant Senate Ethics Officer and General Counsel (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
  • Lyse Ricard, Interim Senate Ethics Officer (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 12:16 PM
Tuesday, March 6, 2012 at 2:36 PM
Wednesday, February 29, 2012 at 2:34 PM
Tuesday, February 14, 2012 at 2:28 PM
Tuesday, February 7, 2012 at 2:47 PM
Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 2:35 PM
  • Jean T. Fournier, Senate Ethics Officer (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
Wednesday, November 23, 2011 at 2:35 PM
Wednesday, October 26, 2011 at 2:38 PM
  • Jean T. Fournier, Senate Ethics Officer (Office of the Senate Ethics Officer)
Legend
Audio only
Audio only
Video
Video
Webcast
Webcast
Meeting notice
Meeting notice
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness