Studies & Bills

Orders of Reference

An order of reference is a decision of the Senate authorizing a committee to undertake the study of an issue, bill or other matter. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. However, three committees are empowered by the Rules of the Senate to act on their own initiative without a prior order of reference from the Senate. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.

Studies & Bills Order of Reference Session  note  note
Bill C-83, An Act to amend the Auditor General Act
1995-12-06
Tuesday, December 12, 1995 at 9:45 AM
Bill C-71, An Act to amend the Explosives Acts
1995-10-31
Thursday, November 2, 1995 at 11:10 AM
Bill C-56, An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act
1994-12-14
Thursday, December 15, 1994 at 10:09 AM
Bill S-7, An Act to accelerate the use of alternative fuels for internal combustion engines
1994-12-13
Tuesday, April 4, 1995 at 5:35 PM
Tuesday, April 4, 1995 at 3:40 PM
Tuesday, April 4, 1995 at 9:00 AM
Tuesday, March 28, 1995 at 3:30 PM
Tuesday, March 28, 1995 at 8:30 AM
Bill C-48, An Act to establish the Department of Natural Resources and to amend related Acts
1994-11-29
Wednesday, November 30, 1994 at 12:15 PM
Bill C-25, An Act to amend the Canada Petroleum Resources Act
1994-10-04
Tuesday, October 25, 1994 at 10:00 AM
Bill C-23, An Act to implement a Convention for the protection of migratory birds in Canada and the United States
1994-06-21
Wednesday, June 22, 1994 at 12:21 PM
Bill C-24, An Act to amend the Canada Wildlife Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act
1994-06-21
Wednesday, June 22, 1994 at 12:21 PM
Bill C-6, An Act to amend the Canada Oil and Gas operations Act, the Petroleum Resources Act and the National Energy Board
1994-04-27
Tuesday, May 3, 1994 at 10:00 AM
Government Policy Options (Canada's Natural Regions) Study
1994-04-27
Wednesday, January 31, 1996 at 10:20 AM
Thursday, December 14, 1995 at 11:30 AM
Wednesday, December 13, 1995 at 12:25 PM
Tuesday, June 20, 1995 at 9:14 AM
Tuesday, November 29, 1994 at 10:00 AM
Tuesday, April 26, 1994 at 10:15 AM
Legend
Audio only
Audio only
Video
Video
Webcast
Webcast
Meeting notice
Meeting notice
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness