Studies & Bills

Information prior to the 40th Parliament is from notices of meetings. For the official record, please refer to the related minutes and transcripts.

There are limited electronic records available for the period prior to the 35th Parliament. For historical information, please contact: ctm@sen.parl.gc.ca or 1-800-267-7362

Studies & Bills Date Referred Session  note  note
Bill C-108, An Act to amend the National Housing Act
(1995-12-14)
Thursday, December 14, 1995 at 5:00 PM
Supplementary Estimates (A) for the fiscal year ending march 31, 1996
(1995-11-06)
Thursday, November 23, 1995 at 11:15 AM
Bill C-65, An Act to reorganize and dissolve certain federal agencies
(1995-06-27)
Thursday, June 29, 1995 at 11:05 AM
Bill C-82, An Act to amend the Royal Canadian Mint Act
(1995-06-27)
Thursday, June 29, 1995 at 1:26 PM
Bill C-85, An Act to amend the Members of Parliament Retiring Allowances Act and to provide for the continuation of a certain provision
(1995-06-27)
Thursday, June 29, 1995 at 12:00 PM
Bill C-76, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in parliament on February 27, 1995
(1995-06-14)
Thursday, June 15, 1995 at 11:00 AM
Wednesday, June 14, 1995 at 5:15 PM
Bill C-43, An Act to amend the Lobbyists Registration Act and to make related amendments to others Acts
(1995-05-25)
Thursday, June 8, 1995 at 11:00 AM
Bill C-73, An Act to provide borrowing authority for the fiscal year 1995-96
(1995-03-29)
Thursday, March 30, 1995 at 11:00 AM
Supplementay Estimates (D) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1995
(1995-03-16)
Thursday, March 23, 1995 at 11:00 AM
The examination of the Estimates laid before Parliament for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1996
(1995-02-28)
Wednesday, December 13, 1995 at 5:15 PM
Thursday, December 7, 1995 at 11:15 AM
Wednesday, December 6, 1995 at 5:15 PM
Tuesday, December 5, 1995 at 4:00 PM
Thursday, November 30, 1995 at 9:00 AM
Tuesday, November 28, 1995 at 4:00 PM
Wednesday, October 4, 1995 at 5:15 PM
Thursday, September 28, 1995 at 11:00 AM
Wednesday, September 27, 1995 at 5:15 PM
Legend
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast
Meeting
Meeting
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness

Orders of Reference

A committee’s order of reference is the Order of the Senate that authorizes it to examine a bill or to undertake a special study. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. Three standing committees do, however, have permanent orders of reference, allowing them to undertake their work without waiting for a specific order of reference. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament (responsible for proposing amendments to the rules of the Senate, examining questions of privilege and consideration of the orders and customs of the Senate and privileges of Parliament), the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (responsible for the financial and administrative matters relating to the internal management of the Senate) and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.